Activities‎ > ‎

Malaysia Singapore First Aid and Nursing Competition

The Malaysia-Singapore First Aid and Nursing Competition was first held in 1961 at Gay World (Happy World) Stadium in Singapore between the Adult Ambulance teams from Singapore and Malaya. A well-known philanthropist Dato’ Lee Kong Chian donated the Gold Challenge Trophy for the inaugural event. The Maltese Cross on the trophy was made of pure gold with engravings in Jawi, English, Tamil and Chinese. The primary objective of the Malaysia-Singapore Competition is to enhance
the standards of first aid and nursing through friendly competition. At the same time, it promotes goodwill between the members and officers of the St. John Ambulance movements of
the two countries.

Between 1961 and 1964, the competition was held annually with the two countries taking turns to host it. From 1965, it was changed to a biennial affair. In 1967, the competition was expanded to include the Nursing Adult teams and the Challenge Trophy was donated by Puan Sri Saadiah Sardon. The Ambulance Cadet and Nursing Cadet teams were added to the competition in 1981. The Ambulance Cadet challenge trophy was donated by YB Tan Sri Abdul Kadir bin Shamsuddin, the then SJAM Commander-in-Chief and named after YTM Tunku Abdul Rahman Putra while the Nursing Cadet challenge trophy was donated by Tan Sri Dr. Rumme Shaw, President of Singapore St. John Ambulance National Council.

In recognition of outstanding leadership and performance of
team leaders during competitions, a Best Team Leader Trophy
was introduced in 1995. As an incentive to the competitors,
from 2005, two Best Team Leader Trophies were introduced;
one for Male leader (Ambulance) and the other for Female leader (Nursing).
Dato’ Lee Kong Chian
Gold Challenge Trophy 1961
Toh Puan Sri Saadiah
Sardon Challenge Trophy 1967
Tan Sri Dr. Rumme Shaw
Challenge Trophy 1981
YTM Tunku Abdul Rahman Putra
Challenge Trophy 1981